Government Affairs

Mission Statement

To provide resources to our APWA membership regarding local, state, and national rules and legislation that affect public works.

Government Affairs Committee Chairs

Jim Rioux (360-753-8484)

Scott Sawyer (360-352-1465)

Contact information for chairs and committee members can also be found by clicking on member names in the column to the right.


The Government Affairs committee usually meets twice before the legislative session, once in September and once in December.

During the legislative session there is a weekly Conference Call with the APWA lobbyist Mike Shaw to discuss ongoing legislative activity. 

If you would like to know more about the meetings please contact the chairs.

Meeting Minutes 2018-0914

Click to HERE to record / update your professional information in the Government Affairs Database. (This does not update your main APWA record.)

Work Plan

A summary of the 2018-2019 Annual work plan is as follows:

  • Partner with Association of General Contractors (AGC) and others to craft language for claims procedures legislation  (reference 2017 SB 5788)
  • Update Legislative Agenda in Fall.
  • Begin weekly conference calls in January at the start of session.
  • Monitor draft legislation throughout the session and marshal resources as appropriate in support or opposition.
  • Provide input to the Legislative Update meeting at the semi-annually conference meeting (by Mike Shaw).

The full work plan can be found here.

Legislative Agenda

DRAFT 2019 Legislative Agenda

APWA Resources
Associations, Organizations, and Information Sources

Links and Resources

Federal, State, and Local Government

    Total Member : 21
  • Mr. Scott Sawyer, PE
  • Ms. Jennifer Ann Barnes, PE
  • Ms. Katherine L. Brooks, PWM
  • Ms. Crystal Donner, PE
  • Mr. Henry H. Haselton, PE, PMP
  • Ms. Katherine E. Miller
  • Mr. Craig M. Olson, PE
  • Ms. Theresa L. Parsons
  • Mr. Brian J. Ziegler, PE
  • Mrs. Cathy McKay
  • Mrs. Kathleen B. Davis
  • Mr. Scott Lindblom, PE, PG
  • Mr. Daniel L. McReynolds, PE
  • Dave Catterson
  • Mike Shaw
  • Kathy Robertson
  • Leeann Snyder
  • Jane Wall, Jane Wall
  • Mr. Jim Rioux
  • Mr. Scott Egger
  • Mr. Peter DeBoldt, PE

You have been logged out...

You have been logged out of the system due to inactivity. Please login again.