Mission Statement

We stand as a catalyst for change by developing educational opportunities to foster understanding, awareness, and involvement.

From a human perspective diversity includes:
Race*gender*creed*age*lifestyle*national origin*disability*personality*educational background*processing style*thinking style*energy level*assertiveness level*weight and height*values*political views*marital status*goals & ambitions*likes & dislikes*social status*income level*tenure within an organization*level of position within an organization*geographic origin*management vs. union*rural vs. urban*etc.

Learn more about the Diversity Committee - download the Program Brochure.

Contact Information

Chair: Ms. Kandace K. Thomas, kthoma2@co.pierce.wa.us, 253.798.4205 

Meeting Notices

Diversity Committee meetings are held on the third Tuesday of each month:

October meeting TBD at the Fall APWA Conference

Meeting location will be at the Pierce County conference room:

Tacoma Mall Office Building 
4301 South Pine Street
Tacoma, WA 98409

Call-in information will be made available prior to each meeting; please contact Kandace Thomas (see members list for contact information)

News Bulletins

Come see us at the 2018 Conference Series - Diversity Expedition!!

We will be at the Spring Conference in Vancouver! 

Come check out our fun photo booth displays, sign the Diversity pledge, talk with committee members, and purchase a Diversity hat!  All proceeds are donated to the APWA scholarship fund.

The Diversity Committee will be hosting two panel presentations, "Reaching Higher Expectations.  A Personal Journey", and "Reviewing King County's Equity and Social Justice Plan".  Join us to learn more about increasing diversity in your organization. Be part of the conversation, join us at our committee meeting at the conference on Wednesday, April 18th, at 9:00 am in the "Ash" room.

We can't wait to see you there!

Local Events Information

March book imageThe Pierce County Library System revisits the events and emotions of the Civil Rights Movement this spring with its community program, Pierce County READS. From March 11 through May 11, thousands of people will come together as a community to read this year’s selection, award-winning graphic novel trilogy “March” co-authored by Congressman John Lewis and Andrew Aydin and illustrated by Nate Powell.

During the Pierce County READS program residents may also participate in book discussions, film screenings and graphic novel workshops.

Most Recent Meeting Notes

May 16, 2017
April 2017
March 21, 2017
February 22, 2017
January 17, 2017
August 18, 2015

Panel Presentations

2017 Spring - Recruiting a Diverse Workforce: Throwing Out the Labels
2016 Fall - Growing Diversity: Getting to the Root of Today's Generational Workforce
2015 Fall - Diversity vs. Mandate
2014 Fall - Workforce Diversity: Recruiting & Retaining a Diverse Workforce
2014 Spring - Diversity, Where Have We Been, Where Are We Now, Where Are We Going

Diversity Survey

Please take our on-line survey so we can learn more about what diversity means to APWA members and how the diversity committee can better assist you and your public works.

    Total Member : 21
  • Ms. Kandace K. Thomas, PWS
  • Mr. Medicine Bear Lone Warrior
  • Ms. Rosie T. Strom
  • Karen Guillermo
  • Mr. Jeremy A. Ferguson
  • Mrs. Caroline E. Barlow
  • Mrs. Lauren J. Behm
  • Ms. Anna M. Bremmer, LEED AP
  • Ms. Maylin D. Clark
  • Mr. William W. Critz, PE
  • Mrs. Shannon M. Lambert, PE
  • Maryam Lynch-Tate
  • Ms. Anne-Marie Marshall-Dody, PWM
  • Mrs. Cynthia Ann McClelland, MS
  • Mrs. Cathy McKay
  • Mr. Matt Nienhuis
  • Mr. Jan E. Rosholt, PE, PWLF
  • Ms. Peg R. Staeheli, ASLA, LEED AP
  • Mr. Kenneth Patrick Witt
  • Ms. Thanh Jeffers
  • Ms. Anthea M. Aasen

You have been logged out...

You have been logged out of the system due to inactivity. Please login again.